Searching for 21 in words? We’ve got you covered:
21 in Words is Twenty-One
With ‘and’ included (British style) – it’s: Twenty-One
In financial instruments, be sure to use: Twenty-One Only
21 in Educational Context
For students learning, the number 21 is represented as:
Hundreds(0), Tens(2), Ones(1)
This enables children understand the place value system when working with numbers like 21.
21 in Currency Representations
When dealing with financial documents, 21 in different currencies is written as:
- USD → Twenty-One U.S. Dollars
- INR → Twenty-One Indian Rupees
- PKR → Twenty-One Pakistani Rupees
- CNY → Twenty-One Chinese Yuan
- GHS → Twenty-One Ghana Cedis
- HRK → Twenty-One Kuna
- KES → Twenty-One Kenyan Shillings
- LTL → Twenty-One Litai
- MUR → Twenty-One Mauritian Rupees
- NAD → Twenty-One Namibian Dollars
- PGK → Twenty-One Kina
- RON → Twenty-One Romanian Lei
- RWF → Twenty-One Rwandese Francs
- SLL → Twenty-One Leones
- TRY → Twenty-One Turkish Lira
- UAH → Twenty-One Hryvnia
- ZWL → Twenty-One Zimbabwe Dollars
- EUR → Twenty-One Euro
- CAD → Twenty-One Canadian dollars
- AUD → Twenty-One Australian Dollars
- CZK → Twenty-One Czech Koruny
- GMD → Twenty-One Dalasi
- HUF → Twenty-One Forint
- LRD → Twenty-One Liberian Dollars
- LVL → Twenty-One Lati
- MXN → Twenty-One Mexican Pesos
- NGN → Twenty-One Naira
- PHP → Twenty-One Philippine Pesos
- RSD → Twenty-One Serbian Dinars
- SDG → Twenty-One Sudanese Pounds
- SZL → Twenty-One Emalangeni
- TTD → Twenty-One Trinidad and Tobago Dollars
- UGX → Twenty-One Uganda Shillings
- JPY → Twenty-One Japanese Yen
- GBP → Twenty-One Pound Sterling
- CHF → Twenty-One Swiss Francs
- EEK → Twenty-One Kroonid
- HKD → Twenty-One Hong Kong Dollars
- JMD → Twenty-One Jamaica Dollars
- LSL → Twenty-One Maloti
- MGA → Twenty-One Ariaries
- MWK → Twenty-One Malawian Kwacha
- NZD → Twenty-One New Zealand Dollars
- PLN → Twenty-One Zlotys
- RUB → Twenty-One Russian Rubles
- SGD → Twenty-One Singapore Dollars
- THB → Twenty-One Baht
- TZS → Twenty-One Tanzanian Shillings
- ZMK → Twenty-One Zambian Kwacha
This is especially important when preparing international invoices involving 21 units of currency.
Usage Example for the Number 21
As practical illustrations of how to use 21 and its word form “Twenty-One” in sentences:
- The amount due was 21 dollars (Twenty-One dollars).
- The collection included 21 units in total, which is Twenty-One in word form.
- The firm stated 21 additional sales, written as Twenty-One in formal documents.
21 in International Representations
Global representations for the number 21 with variation:
- Hindi: इक्कीस (representing 21)
- Spanish: Veintiuno (for the number 21)
- French: Vingt-et-un (equivalent to 21)
- German: Einundzwanzig (corresponding to 21)
- Telugu: ఇరవై ఒకటి
21: Conventions and Guidelines for Writing
For spelling out numerical values like 21 as “Twenty-One“, adhere to these principles:
- For numbers 21-99 within larger numbers like 21, use a hyphen to connect the tens digit and ones digit (e.g., twenty-one, ninety-nine).
- In American English, when writing 21 as Twenty-One, the word ‘and’ is often excluded between hundreds and tens.
- When dealing with decimals like 21.0, verbalize the decimal point as ‘point’ following American convention.
Occasions to Spell Out 21 in Word Form
Following writing conventions, when deciding whether to write 21 as a numeral or as Twenty-One, common practice is to:
- Use textual representation less than 10 in standard documents. For larger numbers like 21, numerals are often preferred.
- Write in digit form measurements and more complex figures such as 21.
- Always write textually numbers that begin a sentence, so you would write “Twenty-One” rather than “21” at the start of a sentence.
Here’s Something Interesting:
A fascinating tidbit: If you were to count from 1 to 21 at a rate of one number per second, it would take you approximately 21 seconds, which is about Twenty-One seconds total.
In some cultures, numbers like 21 have unique significance not found in English.
FAQ About Writing 21 in Words
Q: Should I use ‘Twenty-One’ or ‘Twenty-One’?
A: It depends on your location and purpose. When writing 21, International usage varies between ‘Twenty-One’ or ‘Twenty-One’ the form without ‘and’ for whole numbers.
Q: How do I write 21 on a cheque?
A: On cheques and legal documents, express 21 as ‘Twenty-One Only’ with a line through remaining space.
Q: How should I show 21 in ordinal form?
A: The ordinal version of 21 should be Twenty-First (21st). In case you rank entries as far as 21, the ultimate thing is the Twenty-First.
Number Converter Tool
Want to see other numerical conversions besides 21? Check out our conversion utility:
Just type in your desired number like 21 and hit search and receive the spelled-out version just as we’ve shown with Twenty-One.
Correctly representing 21 in words as Twenty-One has numerous practical applications across academic and professional settings. In creating professional content that includes the number 21, understanding proper number spelling Twenty-One supports effective communication.